History

 

St Patrick’s Parish School has a rich history dating from the building of the Brigidine Convent in 1884 through many changes to a modern, technologically smart school of today, catering for Kindergarten through to Year 10.

Early Days

Arriving in 1887, the Brigidine Sisters established St Thomas’ Primary School in the convent building, and were honoured by a visit from Mother Mary MacKillop in 1899. Known first as Holy Cross Convent and then St Brigid’s Convent, the building was given the name, Brigidine in 1933. The first primary school was opened in 1927 and is now the nucleus of the Primary Campus of the school. In response to the surge in population with the introduction of the Snowy Scheme, Our Lady Help of Christians Primary School was opened in 1956 and continued to function until 1977 when the primary schools were amalgamated.

 

Brigidine High School which had operated since 1932 was combined with the primary schools in 1981 and St Patrick’s Parish School, a central school, was established.The Cooma North Campus was the site of the Infants Department until 2009 when new buildings on the enlarged primary site were erected. The Brigidine Sisters served the schools and the people of Cooma faithfully until the early years of the 21st century, the last teaching sisters leaving in the late 1980s.

 

A monument to the hard work and dedication of many people, the convent stands on the hill, a striking presence in the town.